Tuesday, April 21, 2015


Formulas of Catholic doctrine and key excerpts from the Catechism of the Catholic Church and its Compendium

Download the one-page leaflet here.

The plan of God for man:  to know and love God

God, infinitely perfect and blessed in himself, in a plan of pure goodness freely created man to make him share in his own blessed life. God the Father sent his Son as the Redeemer and Savior of all human beings, fallen into sin, thus calling all into his Church and, through the work of the Holy Spirit, making them adopted children and heirs of his eternal happiness.

God “desires all men to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth”, that is, of Jesus Christ. For this reason, Christ must be proclaimed to all according to his own command, “Go forth and teach all nations”.

I. PROFESSION OF FAITH. Faith is man’s response to God who reveals himself and gives himself to man. It means the full surrender of ourselves to God and the acceptance of his truth.

The Apostles’ Creed: summary of the faith of the Apostles. I believe in God the Father almighty, Creator of heaven and earth. And in Jesus Christ, His only Son, our Lord, Who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, born of the Virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried. He descended into hell; the third day He rose again from the dead; He ascended into heaven, and sits at the right hand of God the Father almighty, from thence He shall come to judge the living and the dead. I believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy Catholic Church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body and life everlasting. Amen.

Three offices of Christ, in which all Christians participate: Priest, Prophet and King

Four properties of Christ’s Church: One, Holy, Catholic, Apostolic

Four last things: Death, Judgment, Hell and Heaven

II. THE CELEBRATION OF THE CHRISTIAN MYSTERY. Christ makes present his work of salvation through the liturgy. The sacraments are efficacious signs of grace instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church. Through them divine life is given to us as a gift.

Seven sacraments: Sacraments of Christian Initiation:
(1) Baptism, (2) Confirmation, (3) Holy Eucharist. Sacraments of Healing: (4) Penance, (5) Anointing of the Sick. Sacraments at the Service of Communion: (6) Holy Orders, and (7) Matrimony.

III. LIFE IN CHRIST. Through the sacraments, Christians receive the grace which give them the capability of living a new life as children of God in Christ whom they have received in faith. “O Christian, recognize your dignity.” (Saint Leo the Great)  All the faithful are called to Christian holiness. Jesus said “Come, follow Me”. To follow Jesus involves keeping the commandments.

Ten commandments: makes explicit the response of man’s love to God. (1) I am the LORD your God: you shall not have strange Gods before me. (2) You shall not take the name of the LORD your God in vain. (3) Remember to keep holy the LORD’S day. (4) Honor your father and your mother. (5) You shall not kill. (6) You shall not commit adultery. (7) You shall not steal. (8) You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor. (9) You shall not covet your neighbor’s wife. (10) You shall not covet your neighbor’s goods. 

Two commandments of love: the fullness of the law, which interprets the 10 commandments.  (1) You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind. (2) You shall love your neighbor as yourself.

Three theological virtues: foundation of Christian moral activity. God is their origin, motive and object. Faith, Hope and Charity (Love). Charity, friendship and communion, is the greatest virtue and the goal towards which we run.

Four cardinal virtues: pivotal human virtues which dispose man for communion with divine love. Prudence, Justice, Fortitude, Temperance

Eight Beatitudes: depict the countenance of Christ and authentic Christian life. Blessed are: (1) The poor in spirit (2) They who mourn (3) The meek (4) They who hunger and thirst for righteousness, (5) The merciful, (6) The pure of heart, (7) The peacemakers, (8) Those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake.

Golden Rule: Do to others as you would have them do to you.

Works of mercy.  Corporal: (1) Feed the hungry. (2) Give drink to the thirsty. (3) Clothe the naked. (4) Shelter the homeless.  (5) Visit the sick. (6) Visit the imprisoned. (7) Bury the dead. Spiritual: (1) Counsel the doubtful. (2) Instruct the ignorant. (3) Admonish sinners. (4) Comfort the afflicted. (5) Forgive offenses. (6)  Bear wrongs patiently. (7) Pray for the living and the dead.

Seven capital sins: engender other sins and vices. (1) Pride (2) Avarice (3) Lust  (4) Envy (5) Gluttony (6) Anger (7) Sloth

IV: CHRISTIAN PRAYER. Prayer is the raising of one’s mind and heart to God. It is the personal and living relationship of the children of God with their Father, with his Son Jesus Christ, and with the Holy Spirit. It ought to animate us at every moment.
Essential forms of Christian prayer: Blessing and adoration, the prayer of petition and intercession, thanksgiving and praise.

Suitable time for prayer. Anytime. To nourish continual prayer, the Church proposes: morning and evening prayer, before and after meals, Liturgy of the Hours, Sunday Eucharist, Rosary and feasts.

Expressions of prayer: Vocal prayer, meditation and contemplation. Common to all is the recollection of the heart.

Our Father: “summary of the Gospel” and “perfect prayer” taught by Jesus. Our Father who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done on earth, as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us, and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil. Amen.